Jon Simpkins wins the Tysoe 10 mile TT

Temporary traffic lights on the club’s normal 20k course forced Banbury Star CC to switch to their reserve 10 mile course for their evening weekly time trial. Starting and finishing in Tysoe the circular course out to Oxhill and Whatcote is fast and relatively flat.

A fresh breeze however ruled out any record breaking times for the 28 rider field. This was confirmed by regular pace setter Jon Simpkins (Drag2Zero), who despite scoring another dominate win, with a time of 22.04, was a full minute outside the course record. Simon Kisley was second, a further 1 minute and 26 seconds behind, who in turn was only 10 seconds ahead of an on-form Stuart Quick. These two might well have been challenged by a hard charging young Luke Sherlock, who unfortunately fell at the last corner.

Our secretary gives winner Jon Simpkins a good push off

The fastest woman home was Naomi de Pennington on 27.29, while special mention must go to 15 year old Mabel Shepherd (Team Cherwell) with a time of 31.50.

Results; 1. Jon Simpkins 22.04, 2. Simon Kisley 23.30, 3.  Stuart Quick, 23.40, 4. Ben Heaney 24.08, 5. Jonathan Ward 24.09, 6. Mark Boyles 24.41, 7. Blaine Carpenter 24.55, 8. Michal Wisowski 25.20, 9. Stefan Hurst 25.31, 10. Mike Kirby 25.41