Simon Smith leads home the magnificent eight

It was one of those overcast, wet, not very warm and miserable nights when you think – surely no one will turn up tonight – and yet eight brave riders thought, why not. So well done to them all, including our ever present timekeeper Keri Williams and a full complement of six willing marshals.

The TT returned to our regular K4/20 course, which apart from being very wet, also still had some loose chippings, following the resurfacing of most of the long A422 section. In spite of this, winner Simon Smith comfortably managed to get under the 30 minute mark, with a time of 29.01.

Simon Smith splashes his way to a sub 30 minute victory

Only two women competed, last week’s Manners Cup winner, Mery Wolke and first timer Amy Hinton, who really caught the TT bug even in the poor conditions, with an excellent time of 35.15.

The full results are below and some excellent photos of all eight riders are now up on the website gallery.

Results: 1.Simon Smith: 29.01, 2. Darren Alexander: 30.05, 3. Graham Martin: 30.36, 4. Mark Davis: 32.55, 5. Amy Hinton: 35.15, 6. Mark Boyles: 35.26, 7. Mery Wolke: 44.56, 8. Chris Bagnall: 45.01

Next week it’s the club’s longest TT for our oldest trophy the Edmunds Cup. Held on the K4/30P course, this event starts slightly earlier at 6.30pm.