2017 time trial #9 :K4/25W

Simpkins wins, but Heron impresses in Banbury Star’s 25 mile TT

Jon Simpkins put in another strong and dominating ride to win the club’s 25 mile TT on a slightly revised course this year, by over 5 minutes from Darren Alexander. However, whilst these two and the majority of the field were on full aero lightweight TT bikes, Lee Heron put in an outstanding ride on his almost standard bike to finish third. As the first club member home, Lee also picked up the Friswell Cup, awarded annually for this gruelling event.

The winner averaged around 27mph/44kph on the course which started from outside the Herb Centre on the B4100 and then back towards the edge of Banbury before a run out to the Gaydon roundabout and back again. At 25 miles, this is an event for the keenest of members, but a good field of 25 riders turned up for the challenge. Special mention should again go to young Lydia Watts, who in a male dominated event, finished in the midfield, plus Lee Heron’s son, 14 year old Toby with a time of 1h 28m 9s.

Results: 1. John Simpkins 55m 05s, 2. Darren Alexander 1h 00m 34s, 3. Lee Heron 1h 2m 51s, 4. Simon Kisley 1h 03m 04s, 5. Luke Sherlock 1h 03m 06s, 6. Roger Foster 1h 03m 59s, 7. Ben Heaney 1h 04m 10s, 8. Jonathon Ward 1h 04m 23s, 9. Stuart Quick 1h 04m 38s, 10. Mark Boyles 1h 04m 49s