2017 time trial #10 :K4/10C1

Simpkins beats Leason on their first clash of the season

The first clash of the season at the club’s weekly TT series, between regular winners Billy Leason and Jon Simpkins saw Simpkins take the win by just 45 seconds on a fast 10 mile course. It should have been even closer, but Leason lost valuable seconds after missing a turn.

A lovely still evening saw a record entry of 45 riders turn up for this popular TT distance, held on relatively flat course, starting and finishing in Tysoe. The event also combined an interclub competition, with two other local clubs taking part. Honours went to Banbury Star, although the A5 Rangers from Towcester were hampered a bit with a reduced entry.

Suzy Patience was again the fastest women on 25m 16s, just missing out on a top 10 position and beating her own course record.

Individual results: 1. John Simpkins 21m 44s, 2. Billy Leason 22m 29s, 3. Cameron Foster 23m 01s,    4. Darren Alexander 23m 21s, 5. Simon Kisley 24m 01s, 6. Graham Martin 24m 10s, 7. Lee Heron 24m 43, 8. Mark Boyles 24m 51s, 9. Pierre Scrase 24m 52s, 10. John Taylor 24m 53s

Team results: 1. Banbury Star 136 points, 2. Team Cherwell 109, 3. A5 Rangers CC 46