Leyden Plaque competition results

Fourteen members from Banbury Star Cyclists’ Club took part in an inter-club time trial event on Bank Holiday Monday, competing with teams from Bicester, Didcot, Oxonian and Cowley for the Leyden Plaque, a trophy raced for each year since 1951 by some of Oxfordshire’s cycling clubs.

The perfect weather conditions proved beneficial as many riders from the field of 59 entries achieved personal best times on the 25 mile course which started and finished just outside of Cumnor, near Oxford.

Rapidly-improving junior Toby Heron, 15, took part helping Banbury Star retain the trophy once the times for the four fastest riders from each club were calculated based on a handicap system that gives each rider a reduction in their recorded time based on their previous best time over 25 miles when compared to that of the fastest rider taking part on the day of the race.

In addition to winning the Plaque, Star members Andrew Wallwork and Stuart Quick recorded the third and first fastest handicap times and Chris Bagnell was awarded a special prize of a red lantern (‘lantern rouge’ in cycle racing) as the rider at the other end of the field.


1. Banbury Star CC 2h 45m 24s
2. Cowley Road Condors 2h 56m 12s
3. Bicester Millenium CC 2h 57m 53s