Third time lucky for Tobias Wiesand, but Simon Kisley wins the Russell Memorial Bowl

Another warm and still evening provided some tough and energy sapping conditions for the 17 riders who turned out to compete in the annual Russell Memorial Bowl 25 mile TT.  Starting outside the Herb Centre, and running along the B4100 between Hanwell and Gaydon roundabouts, this is the second time this year this challenging course has been used this season.

A 25 mile distance can often provide some big time gaps, but this time the top two positions couldn’t have been closer. Regular pace setter and course record holder Jon Simpkins was this time beaten by just 1 second by Tobias Wiesand, who won with a time of 56.27. This was third time lucky for Tobias, for on his previous two Star TT visits, he’d finished a threatening second to Jon.

Tobias Wiesand at speed

Simon Smart finished third on 59.37, while the first club member home and winner of the Russell Memorial Bowl was Simon Kisley on 59.54. The only lady to compete this tough course was Naomi de Pennington who finished an excellent 11th overall on 69.17.

Russell Memorial Bowl winner Simon Kisley

Results; 1.Tobias Wiesand 56.27, 2. Jon Simpkins 56.28, 3. Simon Smart 59.37, 4. Simon Kisley 59.54, 5. Ben Heaney 61.58, 6. Jonathan Ward 62.50, 7. Luke Sherlock 63.21, 8. Roger Foster 64.39, 9. Paul Welsby 65.04, 10. Mike Kirby 66.14