Second place for Banbury Star at Leyden Plaque inter-club TT

A team of 20 Banbury Star CC riders travelled to Oxford to compete in the annual Leyden Plaque inter-club time trial competition. The plaque was introduced into the local race scene in 1951 to encourage inter-club competition over a 25 mile handicap course, with the aggregate time of the fastest four riders determining the winning team.

The event was hosted this year by Bicester Millennium CC, with teams from Banbury Star, Cowley Road Condors, Didcot Phoenix, Mickey Cranks and Oxonian cycle clubs competing.

Banbury Star were the 2017 winners, having won the plaque 26 times in total, but this time the host club came out on top, with Banbury second.¬†However, Star rider Simon Bull did win the “closest to the hour” prize, stopping the clock in an impressive and well-judged 1h00m00s,

Top 3 Results: 1. Bicester Millennium CC 2.37.48, 2. Banbury Star CC 2.50.11, 3. Oxonian CC 2.56.30