Mills-Keeling and de Pennington take record breaking wins at Open TT

Whilst like all sports, the club’s activities this season have been severely reduced as a result of the pandemic and changes have had to be made, our final event ended on a high, with a record 117 rider entry for the annual 10-mile Open TT. With many clubs deciding not to run TTs this season, the event attracted a very strong entry of riders from 50 visiting clubs covering a wide area of the country. The club itself had one of its highest entries with 33 riders taking part, all a great reward for the effort put in by club officials.

What’s more the dry and sunny autumn conditions were near perfect for time trialling, with just a gentle breeze. The K4/10W course is held entirely on the B4100, starting and finishing near Warmington with the turning point at Gaydon roundabout with a record time of 20.53 set by last year’s winner Danny Axford.


2020 Open 10-mile TT winner George Mills-Keeling on his way to victory and a new course record

With such a strong field and ideal conditions, that record was always under threat, and the first four riders all got below that time. Promising under-23 rider George Mills-Keeling (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) led the way with a well paced ride, lowering the record by 39 seconds, with a time of 20.14. Putting in another great performance – and setting a new club record along the way – was Star member Luke Norris, finishing 25 seconds behind, despite a slight delay at the Gaydon roundabout with traffic. Just 2 seconds separated third and fourth places, with Jamieson Blain (Bikestrong-KTM) on 20.46 and Jack Fothergill (Team Jewson) on 20.48.

Another win and course record for Naomi  (photos – Paul Dean)

The women’s category also produced some close times, with club rider Naomi de Pennington and Lydia Watts (Liv AWOL) continuing their season long battle. This time Naomi just came out on top with a time of 24.37, setting a new women’s course record, with Lydia just 9 seconds back on 24.46. In third place was Denise Burrows (Aero Coach) on 25.19, who was just 1 second ahead of last year’s winner Linda Dewhurst (Team Milton Keynes) .

Of the 117 entrants, 98 were men, 19 women, 1 juvenile, 4 juniors, 6 espoir, 28 seniors and 79 veterans. The youngest competitor was 12-year-old Isabella Boyles (Banbury Star CC) on 31.37 and the oldest 75-year-old John Frydman (Leamington C&AC) on 32.41.

Top 10 results: 1.George Mills-Keeling: 20.14, 2.Luke Norris: 20.46, 3.Jamieson Blaine 20.46, 4.Jack Fothergill: 20.48, 5.Danny Axford: 21.20, 6.Jack O’Neill: 21.27, 7.Blaine Carpenter: 21.40, 8.Mark Wise: 21.45, 9.Simon Bull: 21.46, 10.Tobias Wiesand: 21.51.