Simpkins, Ellis and de Pennington set records on revised Tysoe course

This week’s Wednesday night TT returned to the Tysoe 10-mile course, which has been slightly revised with a different start position to make the racing safer and address some local issues. With a new, or revised course, comes new records and the large 56 rider entry contained its own record, with a total of 18 women riders entered, three of whom were juniors.

Mark Ellis now holds the club record for the revised Tysoe course

The weather, always a big factor in time trialling, was again sunny and dry, but a chilly wind made some exposed sections of the circular course quite challenging. One rider who has held many past club course records, is seasoned campaigner Jon Simpkins (Drag2Zero), who clearly fancied the chance of adding yet another with a winning time of 22m.28s. In second place, 16 seconds behind, was Mark Ellis who as the first member home, now holds the club record at 22m.44s. Just 1 second further back was Will Davey (Tri Training) in third on 22.45. In fact, there were some very close times down the whole field, with several riders separated by just one or two seconds.

Just to further illustrate this, in the women’s category the ongoing battle between Lydia Watts and Naomi de Pennington was again very close. Last week Lydia came out on top, but this time Naomi regained the upper hand by just 8 seconds. Stopping the clock on 25m.30s. this adds another women’s course record to Naomi’s achievements. Team Cherwell riders Annie Heaney and Denise Shepherd were 3rd and 4th on 26m.12s. and 26m.28s.

Peggy Simpkins, one of our three promising juniors on the night, showing total commitment

Once again juniors Poppy Kisley, Isabella Boyles and Peggy Simpkins deserve special mention as their times continue to rapidly improve. Peggy, 16-year-old daughter of winner Jon, set an excellent time of 28m.28s. putting her in a very respectable midfield position.

Top 12 results; 1. Jon Simpkins 22.28, 2. Mark Ellis 22.44, 3. Will Davey 22.45, 4. Josh Newbould 23.11, 5. Simon Smart 23.14, 6. Graham Martin 23.23, 7. Blaine Carpenter 23.24, 8. Ant Harriss 23.41, 9. Steve Goddard 24.37, 10. Grant Marshall 24.40, 11. Mark Davis 24.53, 12. Lee Heron 25.00