More record breaking rides from Norris and de Pennington on Tysoe 10

Following a day of heavy showers and fresh winds, it all managed to clear away, with even some sun, in time for the 7pm start for the club’s second visit to the 10-mile Tysoe course. Whilst still bitterly cold, another strong field of 49 riders turned out to compete.

New records were set last time out on this slightly revised course, so with the appearance this time of riders of the calibre of Luke Norris and Ash Mahoney, the new course record of 22m.28s, set by Jon Simpkins last month was clearly under threat. Sporting a new Poc aero helmet, Luke was clearly up for the challenge and put in another strong ride, with a time of 21m.51s., reducing the outright course record by 37 seconds. Ash pushed him hard, finishing second on 22m.48s., while Mark Ellis and Jon Simpkins were joint third on 22m.51s. A lot of other very close times followed, which can all be found in full on the Time Trials webpage.

Another course record for on-form Luke Norris – photo Paul Dean

In the women’s category Naomi de Pennington not only continued her winning ways, but also managed to lower her own women’s outright course record by a further 16 seconds to 25m.14s. Again, close times followed behind with Ingrid Salisbury on 26m.47s. in second, Denise Shepherd on 26m.50s. in third and Annie Heaney on 26m.56s in fourth.

It’s always good to see our juniors gradually progressing. On a night when most riders set slightly slower times on their second visit to this revised course, 14-year-old Poppy Kisley, knocked 34 seconds off her previous time. Also, student member Louis Bushby, who’ll soon be 17, continues to shine, this time with a top 12 placing.

Student member Louis Bushby continues to shine – photo Paul Dean

Top 12 overall results; 1. Luke Norris 21.51, 2. Ash Mahoney 22.48, 3. Mark Ellis & Jon Simpkins 22.51, 5. Simon Smart 23.20, 6. Graham Martin 23.42, 7. Simon Bull 23.43, 8. Grant Marshall 23.52, 9. Ant Harriss 23.54, 10. Ben Heaney 24.01, 11. Jamie Chatfield 24.14, 12. Louis Bushby 24.16