Jul 14: K4/20 Time Trial preview and registration

After what seems like weeks of TTs that involve hills, a return to the much-loved K4/20 course is on the cards which will no doubt come as a welcome relief after the last few weeks of leg and lung-busting climbing efforts.

As always there are just 60 starting places up for grabs and they will be filled quickly so early registration is recommended to avoid disappointment.

This is the order of racing priority we will use for our 2021 races:

1) Banbury Star CC members who’ve paid the TT supplement
2) Banbury Star CC members who’ve not paid the TT supplement
3) Team Cherwell members
4) Members of other clubs who have raced a TT with us last year
5) Everyone else

And within each of those categories, entry is determined based on the time you register to race so the earlier you do it the higher your chances of being able to take part.

The joys of the Warwick Road await…..

Race Registration

Only riders who have registered will be able to race, for this season we cannot accept on-the-evening entries. The link to register is at the bottom of this page. Registration opens at 6am on Thursday and closes at 5pm on the MONDAY (not Tuesday) and we will be sending out an email on Tuesday evening to let entrants know if they have been successful (in case of over subscription) and also their start number. This is our most popular course and we are likely to fill all 60 starting places very quickly so early registration is strongly recommended.

For 2021, our Wednesday evening time trials will be conducted under the umbrella of The League International rather than CTT. The biggest change introduced by this change is the need for all riders to hold TLI membership which must be taken out before registering to ride. No “on the line” membership can be taken out as you will have to enter your membership number into the registration form.

Join TLI here

Race HQ

Race number collection starts from 6pm at Wroxton Sports Club. It is essential for all riders and officials to maintain a 2m social distancing gap from everyone else at all times.

Please remember that a working rear light is mandatory, no light equals no start and this rule will be strictly enforced. We also strongly recommend a front light is used by all riders as some of the course is covered with trees and you should take steps to make yourself more visible to other road users.


For 2021 no competitors are allowed to park in Ludlow Drive but as an alternative we have secured the use of the car park at Wroxton Sports Club and there will be a £1 charge which is payable at the same time as number collection to help cover our costs. You must not park on the grass verges on Horley Path Road outside the Sports Club.

Race Officials

Timekeepers: Oli Wright, Rhys Martin, Roger Gollicker
Pusher: n/a
Marshals: Amy Hinton, Andrew Morris, Team Cherwell

Race Route

After a standing start, the course takes riders on a 3 mile gradual incline up the Warwick Road where prevailing headwinds call for careful energy management to avoid peaking too early. A left turn is then made at the National Herb Centre, if you suddenly find yourself doing 45mph you’ve missed that turn and have gone down Warmington Hill instead. Follow Camp Lane to its end where you reach the highest point on the race and again turn left at what is the top of Edge Hill and then be prepared for a road of two halves, the wonderful smooth tarmac before the village and the surface dressing afterwards. On reaching the A422 Stratford road competitors turn left where that previous outbound headwind will hopefully make for a very fast tailwind all the way to the finish line in Drayton. Of course it wouldn’t be a Banbury Star time trial without a sting in the tail and that’s provided by the short, leg and lung buster of a climb out of Wroxton just before the end.

Course records

DateNameTime Club
18 May 2022Josh Newbould00:26:10MBSCC
15 May 2019Dan Bigham00:24:42MNon-BSCC
Team Ribble Cycles
15 May 2019Charlie Quarterman00:24:42MNon-BSCC
Holdsworth Zappi
16 Jun 2021Naomi de Pennington00:30:14FBSCC
30 Aug 2023Jessica Rhodes-Jones00:28:42FNon-BSCC
30 Aug 2023Sam Martin00:29:11M U18BSCC
31 Aug 2022Peggy Simpkins00:31:55F U18BSCC
12 Aug 2020Daniel Roberts00:30:57
5 Aug 2020Millie Couzens00:31:03F U18Non-BSCC
30 Aug 2023Sam Martin00:29:11M U16BSCC
18 May 2022Isabelle Boyes0:33:52F U16BSCC

For this season we will have a new road bike category for competition, any road bike can be used but to qualify neither it, nor the rider can have aero aids such as tri-bars, disc wheels, pointy helmet or a helmet with a visor etc.


Entry fees

For 2021 all riders who have to pay will do so by contactless means at the race HQ before collecting their number (debit card, credit card, Apply Pay, Google Pay, Android Pay), no cash or IOUs accepted!

Banbury Star members who’ve paid the TT supplement payers: no charge
Banbury Star members who’ve not paid the TT supplement: £1
Team Cherwell members: £2 which is paid by your club
Other guests: £2
Car park: £1 irrespective of club



To manage the demand for our events and provide a smoother, faster sign-on process all competitors must now pre-register to take part

By completing this form you must read and then carry out what you are signing up to. We expect the highest standards of rider behaviour throughout the event to ensure that not only do you not compromise the image of Banbury Star CC and our sport but in addition you remain compliant to the rules/regulations and Covid Risk Assessment issued by CTT and also the Coronavirus legislation regarding gatherings.

When you register using the form at this link you will receive an auto reply emailed to you using the address you enter to acknowledge your registration. If you don’t see the email then a) look in your Junk/Spam folder, then b) register again and then if you’re still having trouble c) contact the club

Registration form link – click here to enter the time trial