Banbury Star retain the Leiden Plaque for third year running

Organised this year by Oxonian CC, the Leiden Plaque is an annual inter-club event between invited Oxfordshire cycling clubs. Presented to the City of Oxford by the Dutch cycling club Swift-Combinatie in 1951 to foster post-war links and friendship between their town of Leiden in Holland and Oxford.

Over the years Banbury Star has been one of the most successful competing clubs and this year we were joined by Cowley Road Condors, Didcot Phoenix CC, Mickey Cranks CC and organisers Oxonian CC.

Junior Isabella Boyles, with fellow members, holds the Leiden Plaque

Riders race on handicap, determined from previous time trial results, and the times of each club’s fastest four riders are combined to determine the club’s results. This year’s event took place on a 19-mile course, based around Charlbury, taking in some beautiful rolling Cotswold countryside.

A field of just over 50 riders, with full entries from each club, made for a great event with some fairly close times for a TT based on handicaps. Banbury Star’s team comprised 11 riders and for the third year in succession, the club retained the Leiden Plaque with some great individual times. The fastest four club members on handicap, with a total time of 2.45.54 were; Ed Anderson, Scott Robertson, Ross Donovan and junior Isabella Boyles. Ed put in a particularly good ride to set the fastest time on handicap, while his actual time of 49.42, placed him 8th overall.

Fastest on handicap was a smiling Ed Anderson

Just over 2 minutes behind Banbury were Didcot Phoenix CC on 2.47.28, with Mickey Cranks CC in third on 2.48.01. Cowley Road Condors were fourth on 2.53.00 and fifth Oxonian CC on 2.57.21.

Fastest rider overall was John Mulvey (Cowley RC) on 41.37, with fastest club member Graham Martin 5th on 47.33.