Juniors star at National Thruxton TT

Eleven club riders attended the annual RTTC National Closed-Circuit Championship TT event, held at Thruxton Race Circuit, near Andover on Sunday. This is one of the big end of season events, which this year attracted an entry of over 250 riders.

Thruxton in October can be a fairly bleak place, especially when the wind is blowing, but this year the riders were greeted to some very pleasant conditions. Five laps of Thruxton circuit, a distance of 11.7 miles, is still a challenge though, with the long drag up Woodham Hill at the end of each lap.

The juniors, numbering around 45 riders, were the first off and again illustrated just how good the club’s increasing number of juniors are now performing. Sixteen-year-old Peggy Simpkins finished second in her age category and third overall in the female category, with a time of 29.50. Isabella Boyles finished third in the 14-year-old category and ninth overall on 32.32, while Poppy Kisley was second in the 15-year-old category and eleventh overall on 32.44. Young Alex Putt enjoyed his first big competitive ride with a time of 33.43.

Peggy Simpkins, second in class, third overall

There was a strong field of 50 riders in the women’s category, which was won by Leah Dixon, a past winner of the club’s annual road race, with a time of 24.40. Sian Marsh was the club’s only representative and as a relative newcomer to the world of cycling, she put in a great performance to finish 24th, with a time of 28.06.

Sian Marsh on the start line

In the men’s category, 160 riders were entered, with Chris Fennell the clear winner, with a time of 21.34 and an average speed of 32.55mph. Fastest club rider was Simon Bull, who finished 77th, with a time of 25.43. Other times were, Lee Heron 26.03, Matt Norris 26.20, Stuart Quick 27.37, Josh Lovell 28.02 and mark Boyles 28.14.