K4/20 time trial preview: Weds 26 April

Our month-long series of K4/20 time trials draws to an end on Wednesday as after that we branch out to some of the other courses. We’ve seen some incredible performances and new club records already which sets the scene nicely for even more on the longer races.

Changes for 2023
Before jumping into the details of the race, there are some important changes for 2023 which all riders must be aware of:

  • For 2023, we have decided to return to the umbrella of Cycling Time Trials which provides more flexibility and also allows us to host guest riders from other clubs who won’t have to pay any kind of third-party membership, we hope to see riders from around the region come to test themselves
  • There is no pre-race registration for the first time since 2019, entrants can now just turn up, sign on, pay and race
  • Front lights and helmets become mandatory, even for hill climbs. Rear lights have been required for several years.

Race HQ
Sign-on and race number collection starts from 5.30pm in the NOA (North Oxford Academy) car park, access is from the A422 Stratford Road and closes at 6.10pm with the first riders off at 6.31pm.

Additional Parking
There’s plenty of parking in NOA so please do not park on Ludlow Drive or any other residential area.

Race Officials
Timekeepers: Rhys Martin and Oli Wright
Marshals: Heidi Yates, TBD, Team Cherwell (Greg Heath)

Race Route

After a standing start (which is relatively flat so clipping in shouldn’t pose a problem), the first leg takes riders up a long gentle rise to the left turn just after the Herb Centre. The course then proceeds along the ridge towards the top of Edgehill. Here a left turn is made taking you through the busy and narrow Edgehill village so please be aware of other road users. Once through the village there is a busy left turn at Upton House on to the long gradual decline of the Stratford Road through Wroxton village. A last lung-busting, leg-burning rise takes you through Drayton village before a sprint to the finish line.

Course records

DateNameTime Club
18 May 2022Josh Newbould00:26:10MBSCC
15 May 2019Dan Bigham00:24:42MNon-BSCC
Team Ribble Cycles
15 May 2019Charlie Quarterman00:24:42MNon-BSCC
Holdsworth Zappi
16 Jun 2021Naomi de Pennington00:30:14FBSCC
30 Aug 2023Jessica Rhodes-Jones00:28:42FNon-BSCC
30 Aug 2023Sam Martin00:29:11M U18BSCC
31 Aug 2022Peggy Simpkins00:31:55F U18BSCC
12 Aug 2020Daniel Roberts00:30:57
5 Aug 2020Millie Couzens00:31:03F U18Non-BSCC
30 Aug 2023Sam Martin00:29:11M U16BSCC
18 May 2022Isabelle Boyes0:33:52F U16BSCC

Entry fees
All riders who have to pay will do so by contactless means at the race HQ before collecting their number. We accept payment via debit card, credit card, Apply Pay, Google Pay, Android Pay but no cash, IOUs or promises of beer are accepted!

Banbury Star members who have paid the TT supplement: £0
Other Banbury Star members: £3
Team Cherwell members: £4 (paid by club)
Other guests: £5
BSCC members can opt to pay the TT supplement at any point during the season.

Useful links
The Timekeeper’s Top Ten Time Trial Tips – by Keri Williams

2023 Time Trial Calendar and Marshal Roster

2023 Time Trial Results

Banbury Star’s TT Course Maps

CTT’s Rules and Regulations