The longest day = the longest Time Trial

It’s somewhat appropriate that the longest day of 2023 is the one on which we hold our longest time trial and for which riders compete for our oldest trophy: the Edmunds Cup. The course is the K4/30P and is 30 miles of beautiful rolling Cotswold countryside with the odd gentle incline thrown in for good measure.

More details about this magnificent trophy and the full list of past winners can be found here

Changes for 2023
Before jumping into the details of the race, there are some important changes for 2023 which all riders must be aware of:

  • For 2023, we have decided to return to the umbrella of Cycling Time Trials which provides more flexibility and also allows us to host guest riders from other clubs who won’t have to pay any kind of third-party membership, we hope to see riders from around the region come to test themselves
  • There is no pre-race registration for the first time since 2019, entrants can now just turn up, sign on, pay and race
  • Front lights and helmets become mandatory, even for hill climbs. Rear lights have been required for several years.

Race HQ

Race number collection starts from 6pm in the carpark opposite Bloxham Church of England school on the Tadmarton Road. Please note there are no toilets available here. Race start is at the entrance to the farm on the B4035, Lower Tadmarton.

Race Officials
Timekeepers: Rhys Martin and Oli Wright
Marshals: David Tew, Mark Davis, Ross Donovan, Team Cherwell (TBC)

Race Route
After a standing start, riders only have to make three left turns over the entire 30 mile course, we’ve not lost anyone yet!  The first turn is after 10.5 undulating miles of the B4035 at Shipston-on-Stour. It’s hard to settle into a steady rhythm during this section but you’ll need to because miles 10.5 to 20 are almost all uphill and you’ll be relieved to see the roundabout at Chipping Norton where another left turn is made. Now it’s downhill to Bloxham on the A361 and with any luck a prevailing wind too. At 28 miles you make the third and final last left turn and then it’s the final push to the finish line close to where you started.


Course records

DateNameTime Club
23 Jun 2021Simon Bull1:12:08MBSCC
22 Jun 2022Jon Simpkins1:10:47MNon-BSCC
23 Jun 2021Naomi de Pennington1:16:51FBSCC
21 Jun 2023Naomi de Pennington1:17:05FNon-BSCC
22 Jun 2022Peggy Simpkins1:29:42F U18BSCC

Entry fees
All riders who have to pay will do so by contactless means at the race HQ before collecting their number. We accept payment via debit card, credit card, Apply Pay, Google Pay, Android Pay but no cash, IOUs or promises of beer are accepted!

Banbury Star members who have paid the TT supplement: £0
Other Banbury Star members: £3
Team Cherwell members: £4 (paid by club)
Other guests: £5
Parking: £1
BSCC members can opt to pay the TT supplement at any point during the season.

Useful links
The Timekeeper’s Top Ten Time Trial Tips – by Keri Williams

2023 Time Trial Calendar and Marshal Roster

2023 Time Trial Results

Banbury Star’s TT Course Maps

CTT’s Rules and Regulations