On form Ed Anderson retains the Russell Memorial Bowl

The last two Wednesday evening TTs have been tough, challenging ones. First the Hilly 15, which entails two ascents of Edge Hill, followed this week by the 25-mile Russell Memorial Bowl event on the K4/25 course.

Held entirely on the B4100, between Gaydon and Drayton roundabouts, the Russell Memorial Bowl has had some illustrious multiple winners over the years and Ed Anderson has now joined that list. Whilst fastest time of the night went to second claim member Simon Smith (Zero BC) on 57m.41s, with visitor Simon Smart (Drag2Zero) second on 58m.18s, Ed, just 2 seconds behind in third place, retained the Bowl, as first club member home.

Russell Memorial Bowl winner Ed Anderson  (photo Paul Dean)

Along with Ila Pearson and juniors Peggy Simpkins, Poppy Kisley and Joe Hedley, he also set a personal best time, always a good sign of effort and determination. This was incidentally young Joe’s first club TT and to show his potential he set a new U18 record in the process.

The previous week, 14 brave souls with a penchant for punishment faced the climb of Edge Hill not once, but twice in the annual Hilly 15 TT. Thankfully the forecast rain held off and ideal cool conditions prevailed for the hot energy sapping two lap climbs.

Ed Anderson was again on top form, not only setting fastest time, but setting a new BSCC course record, breaking a 5-year record by 8 seconds. He stopped the clock with a time of 37m50s. and split times show he was some 14 seconds faster on his second lap.

Naomi de Pennington (Drag2Zero) it seems is forever breaking course records and her new PB on the course was a Ladies non-BSCC record of 40m.46s., earning her third place overall. With great pacing, setting virtually the same time on both laps, Richard Santhouse finished second on39m.06s.

Full results for both events are on the website TT page.